Are you with me so far?
I think there's a new trend in comment spam. It's a comment that asks about a product but the spammer wants you to look it up and post the website URL.
Here's what I got in my email this afternoon:
New comment on your post #241 "Forums that Integrate with WordPress"
Author : XRumakTheBest (IP: 85.140.223.138 , ppp85-140-223-138.pppoe.mtu-net.ru)
E-mail : iigxxixxiiix@gmail.com
URL : http://www.google.com/
Whois : http://ws.arin.net/cgi-bin/whois.pl?queryinput=85.140.223.138
Comment:
XRumer Platinum Edition is the perfect program for promotion!
It's have CAPTCHA recognizer, email verificator, and a lot of other functions...But. I forgot link to it
Can you give me URL to the XRumer description? screenshots, etc.
In 20 seconds I looked up the product in Google. Any dumb ass can do that.
Now if I was to follow through, I may have posted the link for him. And after a little more searching, I found out that there's about 160 posts like this on the web. So either the guys a complete idiot or a spammer.
Naturally I marked the comment as spam through Akismet.
Pretty interesting way to go about this. Since there's no link to the product (he used google.com as his URL and gave a fake email address) in the post, it wouldn't normally be marked as spam. But it is annoying as hell.
And seriously, who doesn't know about Google?




